Food Flight

An aviator's culinary adventures

New Year’s Eve Dinner January 1, 2010

Filed under: Dinner — flyingbubble @ 1:57 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My boyfriend Jeremiah was scheduled to fly back to Virginia on Jan 1st.  Unfortunately, his flight was at 1255 AM and not 1255 PM like we both thought when the flight was booked.  Since we couldn’t make New Year’s party plans, my thoughtful mom set up a romantic dinner for two in our kitchen and went off to a friend’s house for dinner.  She also offered us a 10 year old bottle of Champagne that has been waiting in our pantry for it’s New Year’s debut since 1999.

Jeremiah and I both love southwestern flavors so of course our perfect choice for a last dinner together was Chili Parmesan Chicken with Mexican Rice.  I also threw together a salad with goat cheese and Snapea Crisps because that’s all we had (it was pretty good anyways).  These are both recipes that I have cooked multiple times but I always forget to photograph the final product.  Finally I am posting them both on my blog, mostly just to convenience myself in finding the recipes for the next time I want to cook.  First, the Chicken.  This Chicken is insanely easy, you really don’t need a recipe (aside from cooking temp and time) and it produces the kind of juicy tender chicken that I thought only came from 5 star chefs.  Here’s the recipe (If you actually follow these amounts, it’s South Beach Diet friendly).

Chili Parmesan Chicken:

1/4 cup kraft grated Parmesan Cheese (I used a fancier shredded version)

2 teaspoons chili powder (I think I actually do about even measures on chili and cheese)

6 small boneless skinless chicken breast halves (1.5 lbs)

Directions: Preheat oven to 400F. Mix cheese and chili in a pie plate.  Add chicken, turn to coat on all sides.  Place chicken in shallow baking dish.  Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. (Try not to over cook, pull it out early and check for doneness, it’ll be juicier if you cook it less time).

NUTRITION: (6 servings) 160 calories, 5g fat, 70mg cholesterol, 150mg sodium, 1g carbohydrate, 27g protein

I got the mexican rice recipe from another food blog so I won’t post the recipe but you should definitely try it sometime!

Of course, I provided the after dinner entertainment :)

 

One Response to “New Year’s Eve Dinner”

  1. Jeremiah Says:

    Wait…Katie plays guitar???


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.