Food Flight

An aviator's culinary adventures

San Diego September 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — flyingbubble @ 9:55 am

Jeremiah and I after surviving the cross country (2 flight) cramped metal tube ride.
love

That’s my standard smile 🙂

After a 21 hour day of packing, checking in at work, traveling across the country and having dinner with my parents, I’m finally in San Diego at MCRD (Marine Corps Recruit Depot).  My boyfriend (Jeremiah) and I got a room at the BOQ (military version of a hotel).  Today we’ll meet up with my parents again and then go have breakfast before watching my brother on a motivational run with his platoon. Then he’ll shower and march back out for some ceremony after which he’ll be free to hang out with us all day. Today is “family day” so he can’t leave the base but he can hang out with us and get some better food than the chow hall and relax a little.  I’m excited to see him since Christmas was the last time I got to spend time with him.  He chose not to attend my graduation in May despite my offering to pay for his plane ticket.  I heard some lame excuse about not being able to get off work.  Bitterness aside, I’m really glad I was able to get some free time to come see him.  This is also an experience that my boyfriend and my dad both went through in the past when they became Marines so it’s exciting for me to see the ‘magic’.

 

One Response to “San Diego”

  1. Jeremiah Says:

    What a fantastic trip! Anytime a Marine can go back to visit the place of his creation is sure to be a good experience. Any Marines reading this? Sound off.


Leave a Reply

