Food Flight

An aviator's culinary adventures

HAPPY BIRTHDAY COLLEEN September 17, 2009

Filed under: Dessert — flyingbubble @ 8:24 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Today is my roommate’s birthday so last night I spent the evening baking her a cake.  I had been wanting to try this recipe and this was the perfect opportunity.  I had to go out a buy a hand mixer because I didn’t already own one.  I’m slowly building my collection of kitchen tools so the foods I post here may get more difficult as I acquire the proper utensils to accomplish them.

For now, I’m post the photo I took this morning, later I will post photos of the inside (we haven’t cut the cake yet) and when I get my cookbook back from my boyfriend’s house I will post the recipe as well.

The cake is an Albanian Walnut cake with a Lemon glaze.  I baked two 8″ round cakes with glaze (the glaze gets cooked on/in) and then stacked them with a layer of lemon zest cream cheese frosting sandwiched between.  Then I frosted the cake in the same lemon zest cream cheese frosting and to decorated I got some food coloring spray paint and sprayed pink all over. Then I used purple and blue frosting for the writing and stars.  I’ll have to comment on how it tastes, at this point I’m hoping for the best as I’m not sure if I baked the cakes correctly in the first place. At least it looks nice 🙂birthdaycake

birthdaycake3

birthdaycake2

 

Leave a Reply

