Food Flight

An aviator's culinary adventures

The Last Breakfast :( September 24, 2009

Filed under: breakfast — flyingbubble @ 12:55 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

This is a recipe that Jeremiah and I created ourselves on his last morning here in Annapolis.  He drove up to Newport, RI for a temporary job as a tutor at the Naval Academy Prep School (NAPS).   This occasion was especially sad because I will be leaving for Pensacola before he returns.  We decided that instead of heading out to eat (which we seriously considered) it would make more sense for us to cook something together.  We have discovered that when we combine Jeremiah’s creativity with my knowledge of cooking (somewhat limited at this point), we can create some pretty amazing meals.  They tend to have a spicy southwestern flavor so that must be our style.  This dish was created by what we had on hand that needed to be used up.

Diverse Breakfast Scramble

bfastscramble1 1/2 Tomato

1/2 can whole kernel corn

1/2 yellow onion

3 eggs

1/2 cup milk

cilantro, salt, pepper to taste

dash of hot sauce

1 cup shredded cheese, divided

frozen hash browns

Jeremiah cooked up the scramble. He threw the tomatoes, corn and onion into the skillet to cook a bit first, then added the egg milk and spice mixture with half the cheese and then scrambled the eggs.  Meanwhile, I browned up the frozen hash browns, I don’t think I did it quite right since they didn’t turn brown.  It was my first time.  Once the eggs were done we plated the hash browns and topped that with the egg mixture with a sprinkle of cheese over the top.  The result was surprising good.  Next time I’d like to try my own hash browns the pre-made frozen kind was a bit bland.  I would also probably use more eggs next time but we only had 3 left.  We added milk to increase the volume enough to feed us both. 🙂

bfastscramble2

Once I double check the amounts of each ingredient (Jeremiah did all the measuring when I wasn’t looking). I’ll put together a nutritional profile for this recipe.

 

One Response to “The Last Breakfast :(”

  1. Jeremiah Says:

    Because I am a Man…I did no measuring. I used my creative genius to guide me in combining the right amounts of everything.


Leave a Reply

