Food Flight

An aviator's culinary adventures

Quick and Easy Pizza October 19, 2009

Filed under: Pizza — flyingbubble @ 4:25 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

pizza1

Here is yet another recipe from my favorite Hungry Girl cookbook.  This was my lunch today.  I had a dental appointment this morning and then I went to Yoga to center myself with the universe… haha.  Well maybe not, but I got some good stretching in.  I finally found a grocery store that isn’t Walmart Supercenter so I went in to buy some of the diet type foods that aren’t as common  (like the low carb/high fiber tortilla I used for lunch today).  This is a cross between Mexican and Italian in my opinion.  Its a must try if you really enjoy thin crust pizza!  If you’re more a deep dish lover, don’t expect “pizza” when you try this recipe.  It’s basically an Italian tostada. crisp tortilla with cheeses and toppings.  Very yummy. Great for a lighter lunch as its under 200 calories or add some meat on top for a heartier meal. I did not have fresh basil leaves on hand so I omitted that, I wish I had, that would have been great! I also used cherry tomatoes instead of plum.  Use what you have, or what you like.

The recipe: “Crispy White Pizza”

INGREDIENTS:

1 large La Tortilla Factory Smart & Delicious Low Carb/High Fiber tortilla

1/3 cup fat-free ricotta cheese

1/4 cup thinly sliced onions

1 tablespoon shredded fat-free mozzarella cheese

6 basil leaves

4 thin slices plum tomato

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/8 teaspoon plus 1 dash salt

Dash black pepper

DIRECTIONS: Preheat oven to 375.  Place tortilla on a baking sheet sprayed lightly with nonstick spray.  Bake in the oven for 5 to 6 minutes on each side, until slightly crispy. Leave oven on.  In a small bowl, mix ricotta cheese, mozzarella cheese, garlic powder, 1/8 teaspoon salt, and black pepper. Set aside.  Bring a pan sprayed with nonstick spray to medium heat on the stove.  Add onions and. stirring occaisonally, cook until softened and slightly browned, about 3 minutes.  Immediately stir onions into cheese mixture.  Spread cheese-onion mixture evenly on top of the tortilla.  Place basil leaves on cheese-onion mixture.  Top with tomato slices, and then sprinkle with a dash of salt.  Return pizza to the oven and bake for about 5 more minutes, or until entire pizza is hot.  Use a pizza cutter or a sharp knife to cut into slices.  Pizza for one!

PER PIZZA: 176 calories, 3g fat, 947mg sodium, 29g carbs, 13g fiber, 7g sugars, 19g protein

pizza2

 

Leave a Reply

