Food Flight

An aviator's culinary adventures

Low Calorie Fettuccine Alfredo October 25, 2009

Filed under: Pasta — flyingbubble @ 1:07 pm
Tags: , , ,

pasta1

This is another recipe from my Hungry Girl cookbook.  I’m sure you can by now that I LOVE this book!! The recipes are easy to follow and usually don’t even involve much preparation.  Until I get into better shape I’m going to be doing mostly diet friendly recipes so if you’re craving some gourmet high calorie food posts… send me some encouragement to stick to my exercise plan. 🙂  The only trouble with this wonderful pasta recipe is that its not actually made with pasta so you may have some trouble finding the main ingredient.  Its a wonderful product called Tofu Shirataki, that may sound scary but honestly tofu takes on the flavors you cook it with.  It actually mirrors the texture of pasta quite well!  I fooled my roommates a couple days ago with the spaghetti version, they totally thought it was real pasta until I told them.  An entire bag of this pasta impersonator is only 20 calories!!! Can you believe that?!? Specialty health food stores will likely carry this product (I’m pretty sure Whole Foods does), I was lucky enough to find it in a local regular supermarket (Publix).  Without further ado, I give you… “Fettuccine Hungry Girlfredo”

INGREDIENTS:

1 package House Foods Tofu Shirataki, Fettucine Shape

1/2 wedge The Laughing Cow cheese, Light Original Swiss

2 teaspoons reduced-fat Parmesan-style grated topping

1 teaspoon fat-free sour cream

Optional: salt and black pepper

DIRECTIONS:

Rinse and drain shirataki noodles well. Pat dry. Place noodles in a microwave-safe bowl and microwave for 1 minute.  Drain excess liquid from noodles and pat them until thoroughly dry. Slice noodles up a bit for fettuccine-length pieces.  Add cheese, grated topping, and sour cream.  Mix well. Microwave for 1 minute and then stir.  If you like, add salt and black pepper to taste.  MAKES 1 SERVING

PER SERVING: 81 calories, 3g fat, 242mg sodium, 9g carbs, 4g fiber, <1g sugars, 4g protein

 

Leave a Reply

