Food Flight

An aviator's culinary adventures

BBQ Chicken Pizza December 21, 2009

Filed under: Pizza — flyingbubble @ 4:46 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

One of my favorite kinds of pizza is the bbq chicken from California Pizza Kitchen.  My roommates and I decided to make our own version of this classic flavor combo.  I just used store bought pizza dough, spread with BBQ sauce, sprinkle cheese, cooked chicken chunks, sauteed red onions, and fresh cilantro.  We baked it for 14 minutes at 425 and it was delicious!!! The crust was a bit flimsy, so I may consider pre-baking the crust next time.  We also should have used more chicken for the size of pizza that we made.  Eventually I would like to invest in a pizza stone for the oven because its just not quite the same when you bake the “pie” in a rectangular jelly roll pan.  Problems aside, with a plate and a fork it was just as good as the real thing.

My Recipe:

Ingredients

Pizza Dough (I used Pillsbury)

~3/4 cup BBQ sauce (I used Masterpiece HIckory Brown Sugar)

2 cups Shredded Cheese (mozzarella or an Italian blend)

2-3 Chicken Breasts

1 Red onion

Fresh cilantro to taste

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat the oven to 425.  Spread out the pizza dough on your pan.  Spread your favorite BBQ sauce over the dough, use as much or as little as you want.  (I’d offer a suggested amount but I didn’t measure).  Slice the chicken into bite size chunks and cook in a skillet.  Cut Red Onion into strips or chunks and saute till slightly translucent. Chop up a large handful of fresh cilantro leaves.  Sprinkle cheese on top of the sauce, then top with Chicken, red onions and cilantro.  Bake in the oven for 15-17 minutes.  Slice into pieces and serve!

The crust didn’t toast up enough so we ate our slices on plates with silver wear.  Pre-baking the crust may resolve this problem but I’ve not tried it so please let me know if you do and it works.

 

One Response to “BBQ Chicken Pizza”

  1. I really like cooking. Thank you for this recipe.


Leave a Reply

