Food Flight

An aviator's culinary adventures

Dan Good Chili January 9, 2010

Filed under: Dinner,Vegetarian — flyingbubble @ 7:28 pm
Tags: , , , ,

My flights back to Pensacola went well and I arrived about 5 hours before my roommate Desiree with whom I was driving home.  Fortunately I had the car keys and I was able to leave the airport and spend some time shopping in Alabama while I waited.  We spent that evening relaxing and watching TV.  Sunday morning I got up and made the same chorizo breakfast pizza that I tried at home a few days ago.  Unfortunately,  people in the SouthEAST don’t define chorizo the same as people in the SouthWEST.  I found a package of “chorizo” near some specialty mexican cheeses but it didn’t smell or look right when I cooked it.  Aside from that disappointment the pizza was pretty good and I decided to cook dinner for Desiree the next night. (Most of the story so far has nothing to do with this post’s recipe, I just feel like sharing :)…)  Desiree has already started ground school classes so I have taken on the role of housewife since I have all the time in the world.  I thought it would be nice to have dinner ready for her when she came home and we agreed on a menu of chili and jalepeno poppers.  Both recipes are from my Hungry Girl cookbook so they are low calorie healthy alternatives.  The Chili took about 2 hours to make but only because it needed to slowly simmer and be stirred occasionally (slow cooker next time maybe?).  It does not look like a typical chili due to the abundance of vegetables but it was delicious.  I was a bit liberal with the addition of spices via diced jalepenos and a can of rotel, so our meal was on fire.  Then I cooked the jalepeno poppers for less time than usual so they would be spicer!  As we sat at the table chugging water and wiping sweat from our brows, we still raved about how delicious it all was.  I am currently back home in AZ and unfortunately left my cookbook in Florida so I’ll have to post the recipes later.  The basic process for the jalepeno poppers was to cut and trim the jalepenos into two hollow halves (I used 6 peppers), then fill with a mixture of cream cheese, cheddar cheese and spices, dip the cheesy jalepeno half into egg beater and then into crushed fiber one cereal.  After all have been coated and placed on a baking sheet they go into the oven for 25-30 minutes.  I apologize for not posting the full recipes at this time but at least you can salivate over the pictures (assume you like it hot!).

 

2 Responses to “Dan Good Chili”

  1. Ami Lazo Says:

    I would like to say, great page. Im not sure if it has been talked about, but when using Safari I can never get the whole blog to load without refreshing many times. Could just be my laptop. Thanks

    • flyingbubble Says:

      Hmm, thats strange because I use Safari on my laptop to update the blog. I’m sorry I’m not computer savvy enough to help you out. Thanks for your support 🙂


Leave a Reply

