Food Flight

An aviator's culinary adventures

Leftover Quesadillas January 9, 2010

Filed under: Dinner — flyingbubble @ 6:22 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

My mom and I were looking for a quick dinner on Jan 1st and with the leftover chicken and rice, I naturally thought of quesadillas (one of my favorite meals).  We each personalized our quesadillas with whatever we could find in the fridge.  Mine was spread with an onion/guyere dip, goat cheese and brie slices, sauteed mushrooms and chunks of the chili parmesan chicken.  My mom made hers with the onion dip, goat cheese, thin apple slices and thin chicken slices.  I only photographed my quesadilla but they were both good.  The mushrooms were not quite the right flavor to compliment the other ingredients so if I made this again I’d replace them with onions, peppers, tomatoes, green onions or omit altogether.  I’m not including a recipe here, I really just sauteed the mushrooms, then put everything on the tortilla inside a saute pan to crisp up the tortilla and melt the cheese.  I love dishes that leave a lot of room for imagination: quesadillas, burritos, pizza, omelettes, “scrambles”, sandwiches, stir frys, etc.  Its great to know you can just throw together the stuff you already have in your fridge and still have a pretty good meal.

 

Leave a Reply

