Food Flight

An aviator's culinary adventures

Leftovers Creation January 23, 2010

Filed under: Dinner,Pasta — flyingbubble @ 4:33 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

My mom and I had extra Bechamel sauce from our crepe dinner the other night so we devised a genius plan to consume the leftovers.  I’ve blogged about Shirataki noodles before, they’re a super low calorie pasta replacement which are as good as whatever you serve them with.  We had a bag of them in the fridge along with extra chunked ham and frozen peas/carrots.  My mom cooked dinner so I don’t have eyewitness or first hand details on the process but the basic idea is that we had shirataki noodles with swiss cheese bechamel sauce, ham, peas and carrots.  I believe my mom just toss everything in a saucepan and warmed it up together.  I would imagine the frozen veggies were microwaved before their union with the cheesy sauce.  I came in near the end, tasted the sauce and claimed it needed extra swiss cheese.  An additional cup of shredded swiss cheese was added.  Here are a few tips assuming you decide to try my stuffed crepe dinner recipe, resulting in a cup of leftover bechamel sauce which you think would go well with some pasta:

* Be careful about adding liquids to the sauce, my mom was concerned that it would be too thick.  Our dinner was almost a noodle soup (she added milk).

* Don’t worry about measuring anything its pasta… with sauce… make it your own!

* The sauce is a great base for almost any flavors so don’t feel restricted by anything I say, use whatever vegetables, meats or cheeses you prefer.

*Adding some spices/herbs to compliment your ingredients would be a great idea, we just stuck with salt and pepper though.

As always, here are the editor’s (yes, that’s me) picks from the photo shoot:

 

Leave a Reply

